The New Year Meme

di Nelv


È da qualche anno che compilo questo questionario a fine Dicembre: le domande sono in inglese e a tradurle in italiano mi sembra sempre di fare un pasticcio, allora rispondo in un inglese che per lo scarso allenamento continua a peggiorare, ma non me rendo conto e la notte dormo tranquillo. O meglio: c’è una cosa in meno a guastarmi il sonno.


1.  What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

I studied.
I’m not joking, I had no idea of what studying meant ‘till… well, maybe June. I spent hours in front of a blackboard in an empty classroom, writing down and memorizing theorems, I spent hours, noons, on a desk – and that’s something I had never done before. But I had my results, and it’s been a great start.
And that’s a sweet suffering, so, well, I would do it again – I will do it again, actually. That’s ok.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

That’s what I answered last year, and it’s good for this year as well:

Did I make any new year resolution last year? I keep forgetting everything, I should have had’em put down somewhere where I could check them anytime in the year – I have not. And I won’t do it this year as well, probably – hmmm, maybe one or two on the scrapbook I take in my pocket?

…I don’t think so.

I don’t even know where that scrapbook is by now. Anyway, this year I should start thinking whether I’d like or not to study some serious stuff after these first three years of university, and, if that’s the case, I should start working for it.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Nope

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Nope

5. What countries did you visit?

I don’t remember travelling abroad, this year.

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

Last year’s answer:

«Serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference.»

(I should focus on the first, but I’d need them all.)

I focused on the first indeed. Let’s pass on to the second.

7. What dates from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

21/12/2012, I guess. They talked a lot about that one, isn’t it?

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I kept things going, but that’s not an achievement, that’s what I should do and what I could do better, so, well, is being alive an achievement? Of mine?

9. What was your biggest failure?

I kept things going, and this means no great failures: where I could have possibly failed, I haven’t tried. Is this a kind of failure?

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Uh, yes, in… November, if I’m not mistaken. Nothing serious, but I had to stay home for some days.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

This. Repeatedly. My world has changed.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Quite a lot of behaviors merited celebration, and…

13. Whose behavior appalled you?

…even more appalled me. I either celebrate or blame what’s around me, so, well, in both cases the list would be too long.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Food? Books?

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

MATHEMATICAL PHYSICS THAT’S ALL I’LL EVER NEED IN LIFE

16. What song will always remind you of 2012?

This train don’t stop there anymore, by Elton John.
Various reasons; mainly: I left some things behind, as everyone does, and that’s something I realized just this year. It’s not something I regret, but this train don’t stop there anymore, that’s it.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) happier or sadder?

Sadder.

b) thinner or fatter?

Fatter.

c) richer or poorer?

Poorer. Combo!

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

I should have read more. Here’s the next resolution: next year I’ll read more.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Hm, I’m not being nice telling others what they should do, telling myself what I think I’m expected to do. I’m not doing that by purpose, but I can stop on purpose, amirite?

20. How did you spend Christmas?

Last year’s answer is still good:

In my hometown, with my family. That’s how Christmas goes, isn’t it?

21. Did you fall in love in 2012?

Oh, come on.

22. What was your favorite TV program?

When I’m home I like to watch NCIS.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

This question reminds me of a song!

24. What was the best book you read?

Death with interruptions, by Jose Saramago. I loved it.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

The best pessimist

26. What did you want and get?

Let’s say I’d been lucky with the hardware, aaand…

27. What did you want and not get?

…that I’ve had a bad luck with the software. But I’m not complaining.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

I liked This must be the place.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I didn’t feel like doing anything, this year – accordingly, I haven’t done anything.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Immeasurably.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

Wear a shirt on monday. No, I don’t know why, it just happened.

32. What kept you sane?

That’s a strong assumption.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I don’t remember fancying anyone, at the moment.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

The conflicts in Gaza worried me a lot.

35. Who did you miss?

Had I got a machine gun, I wouldn’t have missed anyone. But no machine guns this year.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

The one who makes me wonder.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012.

The quote is from Russell:

To every man comes, sooner or later, the great renunciation. For the young, there is nothing unattainable; a good thing desired with the whole force of a passionate will, and yet impossible, is to them not credible. Yet, by death, by illness, by poverty, or by the voice of duty, we must learn, each one of us, that the world was not made for us, and that, however beautiful may be the things we crave, Fate may nevertheless forbid them..

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

«I used to be the main express,
All steam and whistles heading west;
Picking up my pain from door to door,
Riding on the storyline,
Furnace burning overtime:
But this train don’t stop,
This train don’t stop,
This train don’t stop there anymore.»

